Lymphoma is cancer that begins in infection-fighting cells of the immune system, called lymphocytes. These cells are in the lymph nodes, spleen, thymus, bone marrow, and other parts of the body. There are two main types of lymphoma: Hodgkin and Non-Hodgkin. See Hodgkin disease or Non-Hodgkin disease for signs, symptoms and treatments.